Learning CSS & HTML

Learning CSS & HTML

Building responsive Web pages

As a self-taught, I have to spend a good amount of time finding the right sources to learn programming languages and the best way to get the concepts right. For my fortune and everybody else who would like to push their knowledge, the internet offers tons of platforms to achieve this.

One day, I came upon freeCodeCamp.org a non-profit organization that has as its goal to educate in coding for free by sharing dynamic videos, tutorials & certifications. My goal was to pursue Web Design Certification by learning HTML & CSS. Some of the cool things I learned are below:

  • HTML tags, webpage structure, adding photos, and buttons by creating a photo app.

    • Learned about CSS and best practices in how to display a webpage, and its elements such as color, font, and size. For this exercise, I built a menu for a Coffee Shop.

      • Building forms, collecting information from visitors in a website, data types, CSS styling tools, buttons, labels, ids, and I/O fields.

        • Effective use of HTML elements, spacing, borders, box model, Flexbox concept for responsive web designs, typography, CSS Variables, grids, and transform elements.

This certification offered me the tools to start my developer journey and later apply it to real-life projects. I highly recommend freeCodeCamp if you are interested in learning front-end development or if you are interested in supporting an organization whose mission is forming developers from all backgrounds and economic levels.

Please give it a thumbs-up if you like this article and I will do my best to post more content like this in the future.